#contemporary, #fiction, #literature, book blog, book blogger, book bloggers, book review, books, bookstagram, Uncategorised, ya, young adult

ARC Book Review: This Will Be Funny Someday by Katie Henry

Title: This Will Be Funny Someday

Author: Katie Henry

Length: 400 pages

Publisher: Harper360 YA

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Izzy is used to keeping her thoughts to herself- at home and in school. When she accidentally walks onstage in a stand-up comedy club, the performing experience is surprisingly cathartic. After the show, she meets Mo, an inspiring comic who’s everything Izzy’s not: bold, confident comfortable in her skin. Mo invites Izzy to join her friends and introduces her to the Chicago open mic scene. The only problem? Izzy’s new friends are college students – and Izzy tells them she’s one, too. The dutiful daughter and model student is now sneaking out to perform with her new comedy friends while her controlling boyfriend is getting suspicious and her former best friend knows there’s something going on. Izzy can hardly remember all the lies she’s telling to keep her parallel lives separate. And when the collide, Izzy must choose to either hide what she really wants or, finally, truly stand up for herself.

This book says on the back ‘perfect for fans of The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel’ and I knew I had to have this book, is I was very grateful when Harper360ya sent me a copy.

This is such an enjoyable book. It’s got everything you could want in a in a YA contemporary novel. It’s funny, it’s moving, and it’s really well written.

This Will Be Funny Someday has got fantastic characters in. I loved the main character Izzy. She was brilliant. She was instantly likeable, you wanted to her to be happy and achieve all her dreams. You really felt for her at times. She’s a really complex character and I really appreciated that in a YA book. I also really loved Mo, and I really enjoyed the friendship her and Izzy had. Jonah and Will were also great. Don’t great characters just make a book brilliant?

I absolutely loved the Stand-Up comedy element to this book. It’s so interesting. I loved seeing Izzy journey from the first time on stage, to working on her set and then getting more confident. I also think the stand-up was really well written. I imagine it was really hard to write but Katie pulls it off perfectly for me. The stand-up made me laugh out loud which is always a good sign.

I will say this book definitely deals with some hard things, it deals with emotional abuse in a relationship, toxic relationships and sexual assault, so there’s definitely some trigger warnings for those. They are dealt with honestly and its really powerful and emotional to read. It also makes you really feel for Izzy.

I also just need to point out how much I enjoyed the fact that there wasn’t a romance in this book. It was so refreshing to read Izzy finding her passion and working towards, it was super inspiring to read. It’s all about Izzy finding her voice and speaking up in every way fo her life and I really loved this aspect.

I will say the only thing I didn’t enjoy about this book was all the lying Izzy did. I understand why she had to lie at the beginning, but as they continue it just becomes annoying. Especially as she is lying to her friends, and we as a reader knew how it was going to end so it was just a little bit tedious.

I definitely recommend this book. It was really enjoyable, and it wasn’t like anything I’ve read before. A brilliant YA novel.

Thank you to harper360ya for gifting me with a copy of this book in return for an honest, unbiased review. It’s out February 18th in the UK.

Until the next review

Jthbooks